Solar cooker comfort food

I was introduced to this Tromboncino heirloom squash at the Hollywood Farmer’s Market. It reminded my so much of a sleeping cat that I had to buy one. That resemblance made it harder to slice!

I’m making chicken soup, a comfort food for my visit with my Aunt Annie tomorrow. She’s 105 years old, lives alone in an area west of San Diego and mostly looks after herself. This visit was originally scheduled to celebrate her recent birthday, but, her last son died last week, our visit is just to be together. This soup has to be special because it may be our last meal together.

Yesterday, in the solar cookers, I made chicken broth with lemongrass (from garden) and wakami (not from garden), roasted chicken livers (for auntie and the cat), and roasted carrots. Today I roasted the skinny part of Tromboncino on a bed of onions with a little turmeric and cumin seeds, and made chicken bone broth. It was fun to have all of those cookers working at one time. I’ve been usurping any piece of furniture around here that will hold a cooker! Ideally, I’d like help to put wheels on a few for the heavier ovens.

Today I added the ramen noodles (millet/ brown rice) that we now stock in the bulk room.

I also experimented with peanut butter, almond meal, date cookies, (lower left). That’s it- just 3 gf, vegan ingredients! I plan to bake them again at the Saturday solar cooker workshop – and sneak in a little sweetener.

Leave a comment