Short Videos on Space, Gardens and Greywater

Here are three short videos showing and telling some of the aspects of Los Angeles Eco-Village. If you’re looking for a good well-edited video overview, I recommend this Streetfilm or this documentary by Tamika Thompson.

At the top of this article is a short about the space between our two apartment buildings – a space we call Avocado Alley.  The video is from a tour we did for SHEPMA (Silver Lake Hollywood Echo Park Metro Alliance) folks which are part of a great L.A. progressive organization SCOPE (Strategic Concepts in Organizing and Policy Education.) It features  translation en espanol by Graciela Geyer. Avocado Alley is named so because it houses two tall avocado trees. Below is a second short video about my garden and about front yard gardening.

And below video done by my friend Miguel‘s sister, who interviewed Somer and me about some of our greywater systems – which re-use household wastewater to water our gardens:

One thought on “Short Videos on Space, Gardens and Greywater

  1. Hello and thanks for the videos.
    I currently live (and garden) in CT. In preparation for visiting LAEV in March, I like to keep up with what’s going on.
    I also dug up my front yard. The potential “thieves” are deer, groundhogs (well named) and raccoons. My defensive gardening includes allowing a lot of wild plants to grow around the periphery so the wildlife won’t see anything of interest.
    I’ve always wondered about how a grey water system works and appreciated the technical explanations.
    Thanks for sharing your work. I look forward to meeting you all soon.
    Carol
    carol@mtcwc.com

Leave a Reply

